With Our Thanks:

-Former Brooklyn Borough President Marty Markowitz
-Former NY City Councilman Michael C. Nelson

Councilmembers: -Darlene Mealy, Stephen Levin, Chaim Deutsch, David Greenfield

-Jim Goldman, Charles Diker, Lloyd Handwerker, Hon Alice Fisher Rubin, Lowell Rubin, Raoul Felder bhs-logo2


About Us

The Brooklyn Jewish Historical Initiative (BJHI) welcomes input from diverse segments of the local and international community and is committed to engaging stakeholders in the project’s formation and development. As such The Brooklyn Jewish Historical Initiative is advised by a community and a scholarly advisory council, representing a range of voices.


Howard B. Teich, President, The Howard Teich Network, Founder & Co-Chair

Sarina Roffé, President, Sephardic Heritage Project, Co-Chair

Joseph Dorinson, Professor of History, Long Island University, Vice Chair


Dr. Ilana Abramovitch, Co-editor, Jews of Brooklyn

Rabbi Daniel M. Bronstein, Rabbi and Congregational Scholar, Congregation Beth Elohim

Martha Foley, Archival and Historical Consultant

Ann-Isabel Friedman, Director, Sacred Sites Program, The New York Landmarks Conservancy

Dr. James A. Goldman, Former Acting Dean of Continuing Education, New York City College of Technology

Judith R. Greenwald, Historian and Archivist, Kane Street Synagogue

Charles Kahn

Yisroel Bar Kaplan, Chabad Jewish Tours

David Katz, United Jewish Organizations of Williamsburg

Carol Levin, Historian, Kane Street Synagogue

Ellen Levitt, Author, Lost Synagogues of Brooklyn

Michael New, Executive Director, King David Rehabilitation Center

Rabbi David Niederman, Executive Director and President, United Jewish Organizations of Williamsburg

Rabbi Gary Pollack, President, Bensonhurst COJO

Nancy Rosenberg, Congregation Beth Elohim

Steven Schechter, Executive Director of Government and External Affairs, Brooklyn College

Ron Schweiger, Brooklyn Borough Historian, Office of Brooklyn Borough President Eric Adams

Deborah Schwartz – Executive Director, Brooklyn Historical Society

Rita Schwartz

Jonathan Zalisky